Photographs

You’ve always wanted to take pictures,

snapshot mementos of rich experiences

encased in white frames

that I would rather keep in my head.

And you argued, memories might fail you.

While photographs hold the power

to freeze time in a snap of your shutter.

How I wish that emotions

could be frozen like your pictures.

My memory does not fail me,

and I remember completely

All the things, time and places,

even the empty spaces,

conveniently framed in your photos —

creating nostalgia

While I stare at the pictures you’ve taken

and ironically left behind

when you vaguely mumbled

your goodbye.

.

this is one of my personal favorites from 2006.

Leave a Reply

