The Mentalist

“Mentalist, noun. Someone who uses mental acuity, hypnosis and/or suggestion. A master manipulator of thoughts and behavior.”

Out of boredom, I got to watch TV tonight and saw back to back episodes of The Mentalist on CBS. I think it’s a great show, being a follower of detective crime series and all. I was fascinated by its tag line: a manipulator of thoughts and behavior; and I thought: hey, that’s why I do for a living.

Oh the joy of human behavior! I can still remember clearly the first meeting in our class on general psychology: the goals of psychology are to describe, explain, predict and control behavior. So that makes me a mentalist, too. Interesting.

Leave a Reply

