Indecision

I have known the feeling of not wanting anything that much.

..where everything seems good for the taking.

Nothing spectacular stood out. Every available option seemed okay.

So when forced to make a choice, I did so halfheartedly;

..and I did doubt my pick. I still ponder on missed opportunities.

I still battle with the dreaded “what ifs”.

It took me decades to learn from it.

That decisions should not be made haphazardly —

…that too many options make choosing more difficult;

…that just because it appears convenient, or comfortable,

or easy, or accessible, we should take it;

…that there is freedom in letting go;

…that regrets are difficult to live with.

It might take a while and a lot of patience

but I believe there is something that we truly want

that we may sometimes deny ourselves

or downplay for whatever reasons;

but we must be able to figure that out

and not be content with something that’s good enough.

We all deserve to discover what’s meant for us.

It isn’t always a battle between the heart and the mind;

if we pay close attention to what they are saying.

Leave a Reply

