Breaking Up

“I don’t understand,” I said, shaking my head slowly. “it doesn’t make sense to me. How could you choose to leave the person you say you love?”

And he sighed with a resounding breath that sounded like regret. “Things don’t always have to make sense. It’s not easy for me to do this..”

“Then why do you have to make it so hard?” I mumbled, trying my best to keep myself from crying. I swore to myself that I will not shed a single tear for you. I am too proud to cry in front of you; I will not let myself down.

It was easy to say that timing was off. But we both know that’s not the case. Relationships require work, but love makes all the effort worth the while. Time is irrelevant. I could have settled for: it just wasn’t meant to be. But I am a believer that we are masters of our own destiny. Choice. That was the thing. He is choosing to leave me, I am choosing to stay.

Why was it so hard to choose me? “Maybe it would make sense if I just say, I thought I love you.” he calmly said. “Or maybe you did.” I replied nonchalantly.

I bit my tongue so the tears that were forming in my eyes will hold still. And in that moment, I understood how the truth hurts, and how it sets you free.

 

Leave a Reply

