Supernova

With the briefest touch a spark was ignited

that I never really noticed until

you breathed air

enough to fan it into an ember

like a soft glow of a coal. And for a while

I delighted in the warmth I felt

when you were around; and in the times you weren’t

I made do with keeping the flame alive

just by thinking about you and

letting you know how much I do.

But like all beginnings, you decided to end things.

Without a word, with just a sigh —

the spark was gone. And after all these years,

all I can see is the beauty of what could have been

had there been a you and me.

Leave a Reply

